A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Ups

In the latest episode of my Challenge Anneka series, one of the stranger things of my last week has been locating the best spot in the area for downloading content (TV programmes and movies) for J to watch when he is struggling. We are located in the foothills of a valley and our wifi is really not cut out for it. Well not in the summer anyway when the local population surges from around 20,000 to the region of 100,000. Thanks to some testing with Anna I am fairly confident we have found the best spot around for using our mobile hotspot so every now and then I drive here and sit with the aircon and read my book and download programmes. Unfortunately the location is right outside a row of houses and I must stick out like a sore thumb as the weird British lady doing dodgy stuff on a computer. I should probably consider myself lucky not to have been arrested.

In the land of contrasts you can see here that J wasn't struggling earlier. Indeed we had a long game of Oh Heck before this so a total of about 3 hours of sustained pretty full on activity before he crashed. I know in the real world it doesn't sound like much but it is considerably more than he has managed for the last 10 days and a really positive sign. I also think he is feeling good that he has more strength and fitness swimming than he thought he would have after so long without doing sports.

The day started early with a trip to the market in an attempt to beat the crowds as it is fiesta weekend and it is like food shopping on Christmas Eve. We beat the crowds in the shops but found them at the Churreria on the beach where Anna and I stopped for well earned refreshments. We are now well stocked for the return of the BBQ chef this evening and the skip of dying infested cactus has been removed so we are fingers crossed for an invasion free night.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.