Memories

I've been looking forward to today for around four weeks, maybe longer.
Tommy Finlay of Belfast is in Falmouth for forty-eight hours.
I first met Tommy in 1973 onboard HMS Fearless, I was an apprentice he an MEM(M). We lived in the same mess deck and got to know each other and got along well.
Ten years later I met him again in sunny Belfast and we worked together on and off for a little over ten years.
Tommy then became ill, seriously ill, he has recovered to his current condition where he relies on constant oxygen. Tommy being Tommy he doesn't complain, doesn't ask why me or look for sympathy he just gets on with living.
Tonight we sunk a few pints, had a meal out and tried to catch up on forty-three years of memories in five hours.

I feel a trip to Belfast might be on the books for 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.