just a Moment in the wood

By wavingarms

Cursum perficio

Fifty years ago, on this night, Marilyn Monroe died.

Perhaps one great sadness we hold is the fear that when we die no one will remember us; to be destined to fill a space in the earth of which people say, in passing, I wonder who they were, who lies here.

In the last four years, I have come to respect Marilyn Monroe, as an actor and a person. I may not be a die-hard fan, but I will remember her, not for what she did, but for who she was.

But, how do I capture this poignant moment in a photograph? I settled on the back of my partner's cardigan, a replica of the mexican sweater that Marilyn wore on her last photo shoot, with George Barris.

About now, my partner, who is in Los Angeles for the memorial service, is about to meet George Barris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.