St. Peter's Abbey, Gloucester

We left our cozy loft in Bath at exactly 10.30, caught the 11.13 train to Gloucester, arrived at our B&B at about 13.00+.  Our kind landlady thought we were supposed to arrive yesterday, Friday, so she had crossed out our names, and then she showed me the calendar where she had noted it down and I pointed out that she had actually noted our arrival on the correct day, so she just had her days mixed up.  During our welcome tea, without any prompting from us, her husband explained why they had voted 'Leave', and right away hubby and I steered the talk away.  We had promised ourselves never to engage in any political discussion while on our holiday unless we were really friends with the company and felt free to express our views.  All that aside, our current hosts are lovely folks in their 80's who are still up and about, and hubby thinks this B&B has topped them all so far.

Today, after a rest, we polished off the Abbey, which is actually Gloucester Cathedral, then walked through parts of the historic city centre and explored the historic docks.  We did NOT visit the Quays, which is, after all, only a commercial shopping mall (double adjective there!) and not really interesting for us.  Again, we have figured out which bus will take us from the centre to Churchdown, where our B&B is, but our landlady is prepared to drive us part of the way to town.  Very kind of her.

There is hardly time to comment, but I am doing my best.  That said, when I am busy with my laptop, it's often to work on my shots, for which I will have precious little time when I get back.  I appreciate and thank you for your patience enormously.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.