frogplate

By frogplate

Blackberries

I was walking around our local lake looking for a good spot to photograph the cormorants who visit in the summer when I saw this shot. As I dug myself out from the blackberry bush I saw a guy, perhaps in his 40's, sitting by himself on a bench overlooking the water. He was dressed as if he had just come from church and had picked up some lunch from Gregg's before settling on the bank to enjoy his food while watching the swans, geese, and cormorants busy in the water.

As I walked along the bank towards him the guy finished his pasty and drink. He carefully crumpled up the pasty wrapper and then threw it in the lake, followed by the carrier bag and empty drink bottle.

What conceivable mental processes lead to someone going out of their way to sit by the lake to have their lunch and then do that? Baffling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.