Life through my eyes!

By Vicster

Survivor stories

Not a particularly glamorous shot but the SJM was my venue for the afternoon. I went to listen to a lady called Yvonne Engelman, who is an Auschwitz survivor living in Sydney.

For 45 minutes she relived those awful years, tales from the moment she entered the infamous death camp as a naive 15 year old, to realising she had lost her entire family, to boarding a ship to Fremantle, to explaining why she has spent the last 20 years at the museum talking to school parties about her experiences.

I have always been fascinated in this period of history and have read many books on the subjects including first hand accounts, but have never met anyone that had lived through Auschwitz.

I felt entirely humble in Yvonne's presence and it certainly puts your own 'struggles' into perspective.

To the more than 6 million jews who lost their lives in WWII, we will never forget.

Vic x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.