Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Cathcart of Carbiston and Pitcairlie

Nothing is quite as clear as it initially seems.

My partner has a craft fair at Greyfriar's Kirk, so the weekly washing and bike maintenance has to be done in the right order to prevent oily hand prints on the washing.

After lunch I head down to the craft fair, and do my usual trek around the kirkyard.

I notice this tomb, take a photo, and a photo of the plaque at the entrance so I can find out more about the person of whom this is a memorial too, So the title of this blip is what was on the plaque next to the entrance to the tomb. Misleading.

Actually this is a memorial to John Bayne of Pitcairlie. Pitcarlie House is in Fife, and John Bayne was granted ownership of the house in 1667 after the death of Sir Patrick Leslie, 2nd Lord of Lindores, left the estate in financial disarray. A big shame as the house had been in the Leslie family for 335 years.



The House was purchased by Colonel James Cathcart of Carbiston in the mid 18th Century, and the Cathcart family retained ownership of the house and estate until the mid 1960s

More about Pitcairlie House and history can be found from the website here. Might be nice to visit sometime. However, Pitcairlie House is now self catering apartments and event venue for weddings and business. However I would like to cycle around North Fife, sometime after the St. Andrews ride, so I just might plan a cycle route that passes the house and grounds.

I'm not sure of who is represented in the Extra Photo, but I did like the way the eyes followed me as I walked past.


My partner had quite a successful craft fair, and I got a nice cake from the cafe that operates during the craft fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.