While the kids are away....

.... Mum & dad go out to play!


We headed off to a friends house for a carryout and a few drinkies.

But.....

Dropped Jamie off at the Beaver/Cub Camp today.
My plan was to stay the day and see if he changed his mind about staying overnight and if he didn't then I would stay overnight to..... (but he didn't know that)

But when he arrived he unpacked his roll mat and sleeping bag and set it up next to the other Beavers (I just stayed away and let him get on with it) and then he went off to play.
So I figured that I'd have a quick word to make sure he was cool with it all and just go home and let him get in with it.

But then ..... Ruaraidh, who had already been there for a night and been fine, came over, crying his eyes out, saying he'd been hit on the head with a stick by another Cub.
His head was fine but he was still really upset and when I dug deeper into it he told me that some of the other Cubs had been teasing him and he'd felt angry about it and pushed one of them..... who then hit him with the stick....

ever wish you'd just stayed at home!

I told him that how he reacted wasn't the right thing to do but I'd say to the leaders about it to maybe get then to stop teasing him.

But he started to get clingy and wanted to come home with me...... Now all I'm thinking is I need to go cos being here is making the situation worst.

So I gave him a cuddle and basically handed him back to the leaders....

I quickly said to Jamie that I was off and I'd see him tomorrow..... But you know when kids are having fun and the don't really register what you've said..... Well I've been worrying since that in my hurry to get away from making Ruaraidh worse I've inadvertently not explained fully to Jamie what was happening.

Now I'm not a worrying type of mum.... I'm a let them get on with it... They'll get over it kinda mum.... But only if they understand exactly what's happening. And I've felt shit all night worrying about Jamie. (I know Ruaraidh will be fine and that will all be settled long ago)

I can't wait to go pick him up just to know if he had a good time or not..... :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.