Eeeking it out

I know that lots of people are glad to get home at the end of a holiday and that once the bags are packed they are eagerly anticipating a cup of tea at home and getting back to sleeping in their own bed, but I have never really felt that way and I usually struggle with the idea of going straight home.

I think my justification is really just that I don't like ending a holiday on the low that is packing and cleaning. My lovely husband is probably with those who would be happy to get home and get the things unpacked but he very kindly indulges my need to eek out the holiday and goes along with my sometimes frankly silly suggestions.

Yesterday after we had left the rest of our family in the west we travelled eastwards and pitched our tent again, this time by the shores of Loch Morlich in the Cairngorms. Part of the shoreline around the Loch is a sandy beach and the stunning setting of this bright orange beach against the backdrop of forest, mountain and loch makes it one of my favourite places in Scotland

The midges were crazy, the little ones were shattered and we were camping on a slope so it wasn't the most idyllic of camping experiences, but we did extend our holiday for just a little bit more and got to have breakfast on the beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.