horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Sleep Well Mr Birdman

I was going to regale you with a couple of differing tales of interactions with drivers today, but it all pales into insignificance when you find out a friend has passed away.

RJEvans will be known to many on here. At home he was always "Richard. Richard Evans. RSPB Richard" as I mentioned to Mel I'd bumped into him. He had accompanied us on a Pedal for Scotland quite a number of years ago, in a torrential downpour, and yet he was jovial all the way through. He was a true gent who it was always a pleasure to spend some time with, and he never glazed over when I rabbited on about birds. Not a surprise given his background with the RSPB.

We'd recently had messages between us planning to meet up for coffee somewhere near work, after I got the job out at Edinburgh Park, but we hadn't managed to do it yet.

Richard's obituary in the Herald says more than I ever could about just how much he achieved, and how much of a nice guy he really was, and this quote just summed him up perfcectly, "Softly spoken and understated, jovial, perceptive, tactically clever, and determinedly non-institutional, Richard Evans was admired and loved by colleagues and friends - as much for his humanity as for his deep intelligence."


So Richard, here one last eagle just for you, and I'll raise a glass to you. My thoughts are with your family, who I met very briefly a couple of times, who in amongst the sadness will most certainly have some wonderful, happy memories of you to help them through this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.