Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Sunflowers Sketchbook Cover

This is the cover of one of the sketchbooks on the Level II City and Guilds course. It was one of the assignments to cover the sketchbook!

My subject was sunflowers, so of course I have sunflowers on the cover of the sketchbook.

I covered it with green paper then made a wire sunflower (placed at the bottom of the cover), and used tiny rolled strips of brown tissue paper to make the centre with small beads in the centre of the strips.

I created a pastel drawing at the top of the page and used pen and ink to create the centre of that one. Then I abstractedly drew in the leaves, using some thread to create the lines. Finally I used a string of crochet to create a leaf at the lower left of the image. What you can't see is the extension to that which is tied to the rings holding the pages together.

Its going to be a busy week this week and not much spare time. I'm working Tuesday to Sunday, but then I'm on holiday next week (and off on a 3 day retreat :)) which I'm really looking forward to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.