DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

In the money

I picked up our holiday cash today; it's getting closer!

Although it looks a lot of cash, it's not that much; the bulk of our spending will be done by card as we don't want to carry a lot of cash.

We were advised to get small notes for tipping and smaller purchases, so I was a bit annoyed when she counted out all the 100 rand notes. However, these work out to be £5.97; the 10 rand notes are worth just 60p!

I've put some of the cash to one side as we've booked but not paid for one excursion, and he didn't reply when I asked about payment, so I'm not sure if he accepts card payments.

The travel documents have also been sent through, which prompted a call to the agents about the hire car.

The original quotation was for a Toyota Aygo; I said this was unacceptable as we will have 2 large suitcases (that we don't want on display) plus the fact Mr A is 6'1" so I can't expect him to be cooped up for 2 weeks!
We agreed on (and paid extra for) a saloon type car, so I was more than a little annoyed when the voucher for car hire stated 'vw polo, or similar'. This is only one class up from the Aygo!

Our rep assured me it's a 'clerical' mistake, but I said it needs clarifying as there's no way we are paying for an upgrade when we arrive in Cape Town, when we've already paid for one months ago.

I have to say I don't have much faith in her as she messed up the original booking by not booking us a hotel or car for the night we arrive. She then expected us to pay for her mistake, which was way over the odds, so I've already had a run in with her about that stroppy customer alert!.

The company itself is fine; I'd recommend them to anyone, but she's not been the best at dealing with our arrangements.
I won't be sending her a postcard, that's for sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.