Gifts of Grace

By grace

Little bird (beakless in Samye Ling)

A little bird told me 
"Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one must be silent."

Apparently Wittgenstein said the same thing.  His friend amended it to
"What we can't say we can't say, and we can't whistle it either."

Birds therefore have the advantage on us?

I thought the quote was from ee cummings - google told me otherwise - shows how much I know ... better shut up then ...

Just trying to address dear @Tivoli's comment that the weekend was not quite what had been hoped for ...  clearly my incoherence could be misleading.  I don't yet know how it was on reflection for my Blipchums but for me it was rich beyond measure.  In ways I would not have dared hope for, the blipchum dimension and conversations amplified and deepened the impact of the workshop.  So much so that I'm not sure I'll ever be able to speak about it.  

The Tao Te Ching is perhaps closer to the mark
"Those who know don’t talk. Those who talk don’t know. Close your mouth, block off your senses, blunt your sharpness, untie your knots, soften your glare, settle your dust. This is the primal identity. Be like the Tao. It can’t be approached or withdrawn from, benefited or harmed, honored or brought into disgrace. It gives itself up continually. That is why it endures."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.