Back of Terrace

I've posted many blips from around this spot, but none looking back towards the edge of the town from the moor. My focus tends to be far more on the natural landscape than the built one, although the latter is certainly not without interest. I thought it was about time this was rectified. This terrace of large houses, dating back to around the turn of the 19th century, abuts the edge of the moor. Now converted into apartments, these were once grand family houses, with extensive servant's quarters no doubt. The stone is very typical of all the old houses in Ilkley, my own included. The light early this morning was stunning.

I felt tired first thing and had intended to take the train in with the idea of going for a bike ride this evening. However, yesterday's torrential rain caused a landslide which took out the railway line between here and the office. As soon as I took the bike out the sun was overtaken by heavy clouds and it was raining again before I arrived at work. Such is our summer.

It's been a long day at the office and I'm about to relax and watch a bit of athletics. Just had to mention that one of my highlights of the Games so far was a clip of the BBC presenters going quite crazy when Mo Farah won the 10000m. Such completely wild and uninhibited joy - especially from Denise Lewis. So great to see that it's much, much more than a job for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.