Romantic or what?

I'm not sure if I've blipped this cross before, sorry if I have and sorry if I've told the story of it - because I'm going to tell it all over again.
The cross is a big wooden affair which was illegally erected on the cliff above Workington by a man as a memorial to his dead wife. The council pointed out that it needed planning permission and suggested that he take it down. However there was a bit of an outcry and it was hinted that planning permission might be granted.
It now has this very permanent base and is attracting quite a lot of those padlocks which are apparently love tokens, I suppose it is a much more romantic place for them than a random bridge.
I don't think the cross originally had a figure either so it has somehow stopped being one man's tribute and become a part of the locality. I hope he is pleased,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.