Sleeping Dogs

Sleeping Dogs

The pieces of my mind
Are not worth the unsettling tide
Her peace of mind is mine
To protect and to abait
Not me, not tonight
Or any other night
The past, at rest, will lie

And I lied, oh I've lied
The past, at rest, will lie
Like sleeping dogs
Sleeping dogs; will lie...

Those scenes; black dreams
No, will never come between
And she smiles inside
Of my arms, so wide
Oh no, no river of bile
Or any other truth
The past, at rest, will stay

And I stay, staying true
From now on, for no wrong
Like sleeping dogs
Sleeping dogs; will stay...

These scales, de-railed
Some things are unsavable
Her heart must never break
Her smile must never end
Not me, not that
Or any of my wrongs
The past, at last, will die...
The past, at last, will lie...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.