White Rose Bike Orienteering

Today saw us travelling to the Adderstone area of Dalby Forest. This was the second event of the weekend. The object was to visit as many controls as possible within a set three hour time limit with penalties for being late. The sun was shining and the planner (course setter) had us thinking from the start.

As can be seen from the bike some of the trails were wet and muddy but on the whole the forest roads were dry. I use a special map board mounted on the handlebars which can be turned in order to orientate the map. This has made a huge difference to my ability to read the map on the move. I really enjoyed my ride today although my anti clockwise route was not as popular as the clockwise option.

On the way home we were amazed at the numbers of cars that had brought families to enjoy a variety of activities in the forest. Just glad we made it home before the traffic build up at the end of the bank holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.