New Venture

I unexpectedly flew over Baghdad today. En route to Abu Dhabi, I glanced up at the moving map of the flight path displayed on the bulkhead screen and there it was: Baghdad. It was there, too, as I looked out the window and saw a shadowy sprawl on the arid surface of the Earth directly below. The last time I landed in this region, Saddam had just invaded Kuwait and we had to refuel in next-door Bahrain at the start of our Indonesian honeymoon.

I'm here for some new work that is the fruit of the London interview I did a few months back. So, a couple of intensive days coming up and I need to get some rest having been up at 4 am in Barcelona this morning. Fingers crossed for tomorrow!

This is the view from the rather swish hotel I'm in. Pity Dd wasn't here to share the experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.