Ups and downs

By Vickym25

Dolphin day

This was one of the highlights of the holiday - we had booked a day at Discovery Cove to swim with dolphins. It was only round the corner from the hotel and was a full day including breakfast.

Our swim was quite early which I was pleased about. We went and got out wet suits - it took me ten minutes to squeeze into mine and I could not get comfortable in it at all! After a quick talk about the dolphins we were lead into the water with another six people and we met Madison. We got to stroke her and feed her some fish, ask questions and get our photos taken. They are beautiful creatures.

Then Akai swam across, he was the dolphin who would be swimming with us. We had the choice of a shallow swim or a slightly longer deeper swim. Charlotte and I chose the first while hubby was feeling brave and went for the longer swim. It was over in a flash and I just felt like I was clinging on for dear life, not being that confident in the water. Charlotte loved it though.

At the end the young couple who were with us got called back in - they told them the photo hadn't turned out very well but in actual fact the man had arranged to propose to his girlfriend. We got a tip off and stayed to watch. Madison swam across with a capsule and it had the words 'Will you marry me' on it. Fortunately she said yes! Even I got a bit teary!

The rest of the day was ours - there was a lazy river, birds to see, all you could eat and drink, and an area to do a bit of snorkelling. All in all it was a great day but so hot again.

That evening we finally ventured to a proper non-Disney restaurant, highly recommended by my friend, the Olive Garden. The food was gorgeous and it was literally five minutes from the hotel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.