momcat1

By momcat1

Happy hummers!

I was lurking in the yard hoping to get a photo of the hummer at the feeders. Shock , surprise and awe! Ok , maybe not that much excitement , but they ignored the feeder and were after the gaillardia and the crepe myrtle! Well, I say THEY , but the truth of the matter is half of the time I watched them today was spent  watching today's photo shoot's star chase the other hummer across the yard to keep it from the flowers and the feeder. They are absolutely fascinating! for such tiny birds they are so aggressive. I watched one last night on a collision course with a blue jay. She wasn't moving  out of the way, so the jay did. I've seen her chase birds probably 3-4x her size away from the feeders.I will be so sorry to see them leave!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.