I know . . .

. . . I am a little crazy, or at least others might think so, but I have set out to do something I have wanted to do for many, many years. I am attempting to read the whole of the Booker Prize Long List – 13 books.

I know – mad!
 
I have always been interested in modern fiction. I have read reviews, followed prizes and read and read books. However, when I was younger and had the time to read, I had no money and could not buy books, unless they were paperbacks or second-hand and usually I got them from the library. None of those were ways of getting hold of up to the minute novels.
 
Then later, when I had some money and could buy books as they came out, I had no time to read them. Far too much going on in my life and in my head for reading novels.
 
Finally I have reached a time when I have the time to read and can buy books – although this purchase is a bit of an extravagance and will not happen again. 
 
So here they are – 13 books. In three piles:
 
On the left are the six I have read (notice that they are the thinnest ones!). I have enjoyed reading each of these, some more than others, but I do not regret having spent the time on any of them.
 
The four in the middle I have not yet read (notice they are the fattest ones!) I am pretty certain that at least three of these will make the short list, and even if they don’t, these are the ones I am taking to France with me, when we go in a couple of weeks.
 
The last three on the right I have discarded – I have found each of these very difficult to read for various reasons and have not felt I wanted to spend time on them. If any of them get onto the short list, then I might have another go. But on the other hand I might not.
 
(I am not recommending any of them at the moment – I may do that at a later date.)
    
So . . . mad, but happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.