Bilberries, in the hand (Vaccinium myrtillus)

Today I was out picking those bilberries I blipped two days ago, and a lot more besides.  Since there are so many in the forest just now that isn't difficult and I came home with 5 litres of berries.
I picked the first litre slowly, by hand, as a sort of mindfulness exercise. Picking in this way keeps the berries in tip top condition and if any are too juicy they can be rejected immediately (see the extra). However, it does take a lot longer so I switched to using a berry picker, a sort of combined scoop and rake. Picking is much quicker but you have to clean out all the leaves, twigs, old berries when you are done.
As you can see the hands quickly turn purple, as do the lips and teeth as you eat some of these tasty berries..
As well as berries I found a few chanterelle mushrooms. So dinner tonight was chanterelle mushrooms on toast, followed by blueberry crumble. Delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.