Bikechef Blips

By Bikechef

Making the 3D Map

Continuing the backblips....

So I took a map of Glasgow City Centre, projected it onto 4 MDF panels, each 6ft x 2ft and I cut out the roads and river with a jigsaw.

The panels were then attached together in a square formation to create the "sculpture" you see here.

In this picture I'm painting it with black gesso, and considering what to do next. Do I add different colours? do I add street names etc? However in the end I decided to just leave it black, and sand off the edges back to the MDF. 

The result was that viewers had to try and figure out what it was. The only clue I gave was the title. I called it "Blythswood to the Barras" (for those not familiar with Glasgow City Centre, these are two areas of the city, with Blythswood top left and the Barras bottom right of the original map)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.