Parish Church of St. Barnabas, Great Tey, Essex.

Parish Church of St. Barnabas, Great Tey, Essex.
I had a race today in Great Tey. This lovely church was at the beginning of the route, so I thought I would photograph it, then look up its history when I got home.
The Central Tower was built early in the 12th century and is original. Early in the 14th century the Chancel (to the right of the tower) was rebuilt.
The bulk of the rest of the building was rebuilt in 1829.

Great Tey itself, at the 2011 census, has a population of 911 residents, 649 of whom class themselves as 'Christian', with less than 10 being of another faith.
The remainder classed themselves as having no religion.
The same census shows that of the 883 of the 885 residents have English or Welsh as their first language (I'm guessing that the discrepancy of 26 people are infants who don't yet speak!!). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.