Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

My mate Ken.....

A bit of "Last of the Summer Wine."
Ken. a Yorkshireman, has been diagnosed with an incurable cancer. He's a marvellous character with a great sense of humour. When Ken's diagnosis was given to him he was suffering due to the blocking effects of his painkillers, my offering of a jar of vaseline and a pencil to reduce the problem caused him to curl up with equal mirth and agony. 
He is unable to walk so I do the stumbling and he does the talking, we wander down the road to the pub, have a Mocha and a brownie then wander back an hour later, relaxed, happy and refreshed. I will miss him. 

Please have a look at the extras, in 1972 a young Bootneck had taken a canoe from HMS Bulwark, a Commando carrier, moored three miles offshore, paddled to the beach, bronzed for a few hours then returned to the ship; much better than going to a bar and getting legless. My boys love my choice of swimmers.
The second is the Gawjus Garden Fairy, taken in the Spring of 1976 during my helicopter pilots course. She has worn well, is nearly fully trained and consequently is in for the long haul. Definitely not worth training another one! Who else would put up with this idiot?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.