Alphabet Challenge: J is for Jar

This must be over 50 years old - one of the first things I bought when I started living on my own - after finding a small milk jug because I didn't like milk bottles on the table, I wanted a jam pot. I remember buying this at one of the posh shops in Brighton - my sister was with me and we spent a while choosing, under the eagle eye of an assistant who clearly thought we were not intending to buy. Having chosen, she was wrapping it in tissue to put in the box when I said to my sister 'Oh I can't buy that!' the lady paused mid-wrap with a pained expression, 'Why not?' said Barbara - 'the box says honey jar and I want it to put jam in!' ;-) Not a flicker of expression, just a deep sigh as she continued the sale. We loved winding up haughty sales assistants. (I worked in shop myself, of course)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.