Puke

By Puke

Fife

Visited Edinburgh early this morning to to go to the Spanish Consulate. In the blip, you can just about make out the Kingdom of Fife across the Forth estuary.

We were in Edinburgh as my son needed an Identity Card (NIE) as he is soon leaving to teach science in a primary school in Granada for a ýear as part of a British Council initiative. Whilst I was there, I made enquiries about applying for a Spanish passport (my mother is Spanish though she took British citizenship many years ago partly so that my brothers and I could avoid military service which used to be compulsory). I was told at the Consulate that I would need a raft of original documents in order to apply including my parents birth certificates, marriage certificates, passports etc. Don't know where most of these documents are, my father having passed away over a decade ago and my mother having recently been admitted into a Care Home suffering from dementia. Will have to hunt around my mother's home to see if I can find them.
I suspect the Brexit vote has accelerated enquiries into European ancestry and I was curious to find out what my options were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.