Subject Team Meeting

MvZ, the one standing at the head of the table, originally intended this to be a brief stand-up meeting just to update each other on how it's been going this week and to pep us up with reminders for next week.  We ended up sitting around the table outside because the weather was just so good, but also because the school restaurant (not to be confused with the school canteen) was about to close, which meant we had no choice but to go out.  As you can see, we didn't mind.

Actually a regular working day for me but because I had no class scheduled for today, I thought I'd work at home, in between the laundry and the dishes and kitchen.  As I'm typing this, the laundry is already dry and so I'll be doing some ironing tonight.  The attic will feel a bit like an oven but that's okay.

So, yes, I went to school only to attend this meeting, which turned out to be quite an important one as we ended up discussing what to tell the students in connection with study load, marks, reflection portfolio.  The consensus was that some folks who have had a lot to say about some parts of the new curriculum haven't been doing their homework sufficiently and too many last-minute decisions still need to be made.  While I have learned to take that in stride, it doesn't make the situation less frustrating.  Very often, policy determines how much time you have as well as where you should focus your lessons, and we are 'just' faculty ... haha!

Anyway, this early post should give me time to type out the minutes (I'm the regular secretary of the subject team) and then move on to other work.  Thanks to the meeting, I now have to make major changes in my lesson plans.

This weather should continue until October ... November ... December ... but that would really be weird and worrying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.