Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Footbridge, Biggar.

A anti-clockwise ride around the Pentlands today. I head out through Balerno and past Harperrig Reservoir. Most of the cyclists I meet are heading towards Balerno.

As get near Carnwath, there is a spot of heavy drizzle. I can't decide whether this is because I am fairly high up, or if it is rain moving in. Thankfully, it doesn't last long. I follow the Liberton Moor Rd to Quothquan, following the River Clyde upstream for a while. Then I turn on to Shieldhill Rd. This brings me on to the Lanark, Biggar, Broughton, Peebles cycle route.

When I get to Biggar, there is a bit of a traffic jam as the A702 has roadworks.I stop near the footbridge, have a bite to eat, take a couple of photos before heading along the High St very slowly to the Broughton Rd.

I was hoping to do a big ride, but as I ride from Biggar to Broughton, the hills to the east are cloudy, and the rain radar on the phone says rain. So at Broughton, I head north on the A701 to Blythe Bridge , Mountain Cross.

At Romannobridge, I turn on to the Bogsbank road to West Linton. Its brightening up slowly. I have a nice fast ride across the moor road to Penicuik. Its the usual route home along the Seafield Moor Rd to Hillend and the A702 to Fairmilehead.

Afternoon is spent in search of bargains in charity shops then procuring coffee and cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.