Friday Morning Bridge

A little less than a kilometer from my work.  Beautiful morning and it stayed that way till the evening.  For an Indian summer, it just might be an Indian Fall.  However, as good weather means people are in a good mood, I'm not one to complain.

Did my couple of hours, then had an hour of work-related chat with a colleague, then the drive home to continue working there.  There is a lot to do at the moment and I enjoy doing it at my own pace in my own environment.

Very sleepy, though, as I am always anxious when a class starts at 08.30 and usually wake up earlier than normal so I can leave before the road jams pile up.  The very last webmail I read, around 16.45, soured the evening somewhat.  A change was made in my mentoring assignment so that I now have to mentor students I didn't meet during the Intro week while I'd already held introductions with the two classes I did meet.  It wasn't so much the changes that are irritating but the tone in which the webmail was written.  The colleague is a 'nice' person (lack of a better word here as I hardly know her) but if you speak English as a second language, it is best to get used to a few expressions first before you 'sling them around'.  Either that, or the attitude she reflected in the mail was really 'that', in which case it is a disappointment.  I don't want to say 'enormous disappointment' because I'd like to maintain an open mind, but the incident just reminded me of what is important to me -- my private life and the benefits of my pay.  At the end of the day, this is all just work and doesn't reflect my self-worth or self-image at all.  That said, all of these little irritations have been going on for more than a year now and I am not the only one who notices them, so it's definitely not a case of my imagination.  There are some colleagues who have lost their enthusiasm somewhat and are hanging on for dear life to their jobs just for the sake of, and I hope I continue to enjoy mine for as far as I can make it possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.