'One more time with feeling'

This evening, the Minx and I went down to the Lowry to watch the documentary, 'One more time with feeling', which was recorded during the sessions for Nick Caves most recent album, 'Skeleton Tree', which is released tomorrow. I've already heard the track 'Jesus Alone', when I stumbled across the video on YouTube. A haunting, pleasingly (form me) electronic piece, filmed in black and white, focussing mainly on Cave with brief appearances by other Bad Seeds, particularly Warren Ellis.

Ever since Cave's son, Arthur, died last year, I have found my thoughts turning to Cave from time to time. Would he be able to carry on writing and performing? I think I'd be crippled by such an event. And if he did release anything else, how would it sound? And actually, 'Jesus Alone' kind of fits the bill but then it's not as if Cave hasn't released sad or morbid songs before. This, though, seemed more low-fi; basic and raw.

We met Hannah at Craftbrew for a drink before the film and assuming there would be adverts arrived in the cinema at five past, only to find the film had started promptly at eight. I'm not sure if it was made clear during that first five minutes that the film was recorded after Arthur's death but that did become apparent.

Another minor hiccup occurred when, a few minutes later, I realised that the arty, mostly out of focus film was actually in 3D. A surreptitious look around the auditorium revealed everyone else was wearing glasses, so I quickly nipped out to get us a couple of pairs. It had never occurred to me that the film would be in 3D - I'm still not really sure what purpose it served - but it was actually the most 3D film I've ever seen, with a mic boom apparently swinging out over the audience at one point.

For the most part I enjoyed the film hugely. I love any insight into the writing and recording process, and I found the film completely engrossing in that respect. But as the film progresses, the shadow of Arthur's passing looms larger and darker. When his twin brother, Earl, comes into the studio I felt a tightness in my chest and throat, and I found the interactions between his parents - Cave and Susie Bick - painful to watch because of their love and shared grief. And throughout the film, the compassion and friendship from Warren Ellis for his collaborator is evident and at one point almost moved me to tears.

In the later parts of the film, their situation is discussed more directly and at one point Cave says of the film that he couldn't have imagined doing something like it before Arthur's death. It went some way to addressing my own discomfort at the film's voyeurism; at least it was being discussed. But then I have never lost anyone close to me and it's not for me to question what anyone does in the circumstances.

It is a beautiful, tender film, both interesting and darkly illuminating. It closes with three shots of some cliffs, presumably the ones that Arthur fell from when he died. I found that particularly harrowing, like a blow to the gut as the film was closing. I still need to digest what that was all about.

Would I recommend the film? Absolutely. It has incredible depths and takes you on a brief visit into a place where none of us would want to go in a manner that is never forced or melodramatic. Ultimately, it respects the participants and their experiences. Perhaps, without the music and the studio footage to leaven it for me, I would have found it too dark but it remains an amazing piece of work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.