Packed...Loaded...Stuffed...Jammed

My Dad and I are going "old school" when we leave for the East coast tomorrow. Sleeping in the back of the van, eating all of our meals out of the cooler, "showering" in a cold mountain stream, farting and belching whenever you want...you get the picture.

A few problems...as I see it. Back in the old days when we did this...I had a full-size van, and there was lots of room for a mattress and all your "stuff."

This is a mini-van. At its most narrow part in the back, it is 48 inches wide. I'm not great at math, but that means you have 24 inches of space to lay down your tired butt at the end of a long day.

Also, you don't get the advantages of a motel. After a "shower" in the stream, you have to find a place to dry your towel out. And, if it rains out your activity of the day...you can't wait it out while watching TV in your room.

Lastly, most parking areas or national campgrounds don't have access to the worldwide web. Soooooo...I may be out of touch for a week or so.

I just hope it doesn't get cold enough at night...that we feel like we need to "spoon."

Wish us luck. Bon voyage.

That is the master plan,
to live our life out of the van.
Eating beans and oat bran...
with the help of the weatherman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.