Simply Me

By Suze981

What I've learnt tonight...

...is that I'm not a spectator!

I've been up in Aberdeen again all day today and when I got home this evening I had my tea and say with Giles for 2 hours. Then I headed out to Arthur's Seat.

I'm taking part in the Speed of Light (you may have seen by blips here and here) - It's an initiative that is part of the Olympics and Edinburgh's Fringe Festival. I'll be running the hills around Arthur's Seat dressed in light suit. Tonight I had a free audience ticket to watch the light show before it officially opens tomorrow.

I'm definitely not a spectator. Tonight I climbed Arthur's Seat in the dark with a Gandalf-esque staff. This is the view almost from the top - you can see the runners in a star formation on The Crags with the City behind. It was quite bizarre and also quite fun getting to the top of Arthur's Seat in almost pitch blackness. But it is nowhere near as much fun as taking part yourself. Also bizarrely, the view as part of the audience, in my opinion, is not as good as the view you get when you're taking part yourself.

My parents are coming to see it next week when I'm performing so it'll be interesting to hear their thoughts on it.

For me, I'm pretty damn sure that I'm a participant not a spectator. I'm actually very happy about that - it's how I want to live my life. Taking part in it rather than watching it go by!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.