philmorris

By philmorris

St Kenelm's Well, Near Winchcombe, Gloucestershire

This holy well is a place I have been intending to visit for years. My ardour for such things originated in the west of Ireland where wells, shrines and grottos are plentiful. My photo book collection includes Liam Blake's 'Shrines' signed by the man himself. Kieran Murphy has put together a fine set of well photographs too. Many years ago I was delighted to behold St Mary's Well, near Rosserk, County Mayo. The excitement on discovering my perseverance had paid off remains with me like it was only yesterday. I see from modern stuff on the internet they have titivated the place around St Mary’s, but back in the 90s it was wonderfully undisturbed and neglected.  So nearer to home, a holy well with an ancient stone chapel in middle England I think is rather special.

A good write up on the well may be found here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.