A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

All a-buzzing

in the garden this morning. A bit of mistyness to start, which is not surprising after last nights horrendous storm, but soon it was another lovely sunny day.

Putting the washing out and pushing past the blue Spirea that overhangs the path all I could hear was buzzing. So back I went for my camera.
Of course the bees are never still so many shots we're fuzzy. The hover fly in the poppy was a bit more cooperative but I still liked the Spirea so I've combined the two.

The blue Spirea is late flowering with grey leaves. We bought it some years ago at the auction after the horticultural show. The bees love it. The poppy is one of several that have come up in a pot with a hydrangea, they don't seem to want to come up in the garden. I also noticed today that we have a Magnolia flower out.

Good news, I've actually seen three butterflies today in the garden, two Red Admirals and a very tatty peacock. They are the first I have seen on the Buddleia this year. The flowers are nearly finished so they were fighting over the remaining blooms at the top of the bush. I did get some pictures but they were a bit high up for a good shot. I'm just really pleased to have seen them. It seems to have been a very mixed up summer.
Warm again at Pilates but it seems to be cooling off a bit now. No more storms I hope. Last night was a bit too dramatic for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.