Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

The Wine Maker

I drove a couple of miles from La Capella to photograph some vines we had spotted earlier. I exchanged waves with a gentleman tending the vines and trees further down the track (we had noticed that in Umbria they often grow other crops between the rows of vines). As I was setting up, he came over for a chat. His English was as poor as my Italian, so it was a challenging and entertaining conversation, but I learned a few things.

He was the wine growner, and seemed pleased that I wanted to photograph his vines. The wine growers are desperate for rain - we certainly have not seen a single drop in our two weeks here - in order to swell the grapes. He grows two varieties: Sangiovese, which I knew, and a second whose name I just could not catch.

I explained where I was from and where I was staying. He then seemed to ask if I'd like some bottles of his wine. As I had no cash on me, this was a little awkward and I tried to change the subject. However, he disappeared and returned with two bottles for me. When I asked the cost, he was very insistent that it was "niente" - nothing. From then we were good friends, with much shaking of hands and slapping of backs.

Funny how these little exchanges - despite the language barrier - boost your faith in human nature. Or is just that wine is indeed an international language?


Nikon D40X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.