Back Blip - Valle San Nicolò

Sometimes my wife says, "why don't we go somewhere different this time?"

I know the reasons that keep me coming back.  The San Nicolò valley is one of them.  It is a box valley with no road going over to the surrounding valleys.  The paved road goes up to nearly the end but has limited access near to the end only for land owners and with a large parking lot for the day visitors before that.  I had forgot about that and my ride up on the bicycle in the morning was only ruined by the constant buzz of cars passing me.  It is a narrow road and though not very long has grades that average above 8%... often 12% and in some places >14%.  phew.  Next time I'll bring the mountain bike for the granny gear and to complete the remaining 2 kilometers up to the waterfall.

The scenery is as beautiful going up as it is going down.  The upper valley (after the 14% grade part) opens up and is sprinkled with little huts and grass fields (malga).  No electricity or running water is allowed or other additions that would ruin the character of the unspoilt valley.  Some people are very creative to improve their little secret hideaway, like a false wall that opens up to a door and windows when they come to visit.  :)  

The down valley has a rock wall that looks something like El Capitan out of Yosemite and the facing view onto the Rosengarten is wonderful.  All-in-all probably my favorite little place in the Dolomites.

I enjoyed it so much, I came back with the family in the afternoon.  Mr. JC rode in the backpack while CC made a good show to walk the whole way, after threatening to go no further several times.  We were rewarded with strudel and Chupa-Chups lollis by the waterfall and a nice relax on the grass field. 

By the end, my legs were jelly from both the exertion and again in the afternoon with a 2 year old toddler on my shoulders.  :) 

A few extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.