Vive la Vie

By gillybxl

Family fit Sunday

I entered the whole family for races today! We did the same event last year, except Hubby didn't get to run as he looked after the kids as I ran. However at some races in Belgium they provide a Garderie which is sort of like a supervision service for children. As my race and hubby's race started at the same time, and the kids are a bit older and their French is good enough, we decided to give it a go. It was great as they played volleyball, archery etc whilst their parents ran. I wish it was available at more races.
Last night hubby and I had a wager on who would win between Olivia and Dex. My money was on Olivia even though Dex beat her last year at the same race. The course was only 1.2km but we couldn't believe it when our little Dex came flying round the final bend...10 seconds ahead of his sister! She was, once again, very gracious in her defeat and hugged her little brother at the end. Out of 205 runners Olivia was the sixth girl (the first girl was 13 years old!) home in 69th place and Dex was the first six year old home in 59th place. I'm not sure running is really their thing, especially Olivia, but I was super proud of them today!
Hubby had a good solid run in the 5.5km race (they race over strange distances in Belgium for some reason) and I had a surprisingly strong run in the half marathon (which seemed to be the only race which was accurately measured). I've been battling a cold old week and took several rest days to try and get over it. Thankfully it never got onto my chest and just turned out to be a head cold which I could cope with. This was my first race since turning 40 and the fastest that I've ever run over this distance, so I can't complain!
Fourth lady overall and second in my age group. I'm sure hubby will enjoy the Belgian beers that I was awarded for my efforts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.