Yedameister

By Yeda

Ritual

Immunizations can be incredibly dramatic.

There are the dynamics of a big brother there to witness The Event. He really tried to reassure her that it would not be as bad as a bee sting, but yes it will hurt a little. He couldn't even remember it really. He put it to her so maturely, so matter of fact, he had me convinced. But she wavered and a worried look started to creep over her face.

So, I told her this has to happen if she wants to go to School like Lewis. Only healthy kids are allowed to go to Primary. I know she'd shave her hair off, if she were allowed, just so she could be just like her big brother. Considering how desperately she wanted to graduate the Kindy scene she brightened up a bit. Then Tracey the friendly nurse brought in a big treasure box full of goodies for her to pick from once the deal was complete. Okay, now she's 90% convinced.

I gave Lewis the camera (always prepared for a blip) and he quickly got to work pushing buttons, turning dials, flipping the flash up and down, focusing through the view finder and then the LCD screen and back again. I envisioned him clicking away, capturing the moment so Alyssa could see herself being brave.

In comes another nurse, twice the size of Nurse Tracey, and more focused on the task at hand than soothing the nerves of a four-year-old. I was told to pin Alyssa's arms to her side as each nurse would give a shot to each shoulder. Make sure I had a strong hold. Now I was wavering. And then Alyssa started to cry and I could see this getting way out of control. Quickly I interrupted Alyssa's wind-up and told her I had an idea.

"Just turn off your imagination in your brain and it will be okay."

"Okay, Mom", and she twisted her right wrist to her ear and said, "click!"

She settled back into my chest, I winked at the nurses to seize this miniscule opportunity at hand, & held firm her small arms. With not a second to lose, in went the needles and out came a wail of contempt and disgust from our little patient. Another minute and she was picking out her plasters and then a toy from the treasure box.

Meanwhile, my camera man was too busy taking pix of the treasure box to capture the moment. Oh well!

Whew! Don't have to think about this again until she turns eleven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.