granpabear

By granpabear

SILO

I wonder where that word came from.  When I was a wee lad,  my dad and my older brothers bought a wooden one from another farm, and took it apart, moved it to our place and reassembled it.  Quite exciting to me.  I will never forget my brother Jim crawling out on a single board on top of it to tie off the filler tube.  Probably why I am still not comfortable with heights.  Every year for years after that we chopped the corn in the fields, loaded it in a wagon, hauled it to the silo.  It was thrown into a chopper,and blown all the way to the top until the silo was full.  The silage fed the cows all winter.  
When I was older, I had to climb I had to climb up that damn thing, crawl in and throw the silage down.  This was unsettling to me, but in time I learned to chew on the silage while I shoveled it.  The alcohol in it relaxed me a bit.
These fancy blue ones started to show up when I was in High School.  They said that they were glass silos.  I guess fiberglass.  Anyway,  They all over now.  Not used for anything, because small dairy farms are out.  Someone should figure out something to make out of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.