The Tale of the Scale

I'm weighing my options about buying this old penny scale. In the old days, people would put their penny in, find out how much they weighed, AND, they even got a fortune (like in a fortune cookie) out of the deal.

Follow my thinking. The scale is on sale for 275 dollars. I buy it, and set it up on a corner near the city offices...and start acting like a hawker at a carnival.

"STEP RIGHT UP! STEP RIGHT UP! LET ME GUESS YOUR WEIGHT! RIGHT HERE! RIGHT NOW!"

I charge 3 dollars a guess, and I have cheap "prizes" that cost me a dollar each...if I miss the guess (within 3 pounds.)

But, I think I would be good at it. Sooooooo...at the least, I would make 2 dollars per person. Still figuring...I would need to lure 138 suckers people in order to make up my initial cost...and less if I got good at it.

Wish me luck. STEP RIGHT UP! STEP RIGHT UP!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.