Addiction

I confess, I love dishes.  I would have a hundred different sets if I could but, alas, that has never been possible.  However, I've discovered a gold mine since I've been volunteering to help our local spay/neuter charity with their quarterly garage sales which, by the way, have significantly reduced the feral/stray cat population in our area, something we're all very proud of.  Of course, all of the volunteers buy things as we chant "it helps the animals" just to justify our habit.  My particular weakness is dishes, maybe artwork as well and of course, books.  Anyway, my blip today is of my "new" set of dishes -- English Garden, and while pink is not necessarily "my" color, I just fell in love with them and since I live alone, I can do any crazy thing I want.  I also bought the set in Extras which is called "England" - (do you see a theme here?),  Neither set is complete but I don't need every piece The nice thing is that both sets together cost me $20, (or about 15 pounds, for my friends across the pond).  

When I moved into the extremely small apartment I lived in for the last five years, I had to seriously downsize so I sold or gave away a lot of my dishes, artwork and miscellaneous treasures.  I rented a storage space for some of the things I absolutely wouldn't part with but that really wasn't budget friendly.  When I moved into my new apartment earlier this year and gained about four times the space and a huge kitchen, I got rid of the storage space and was able to move everything I owned and loved under one roof.  Of course, that meant I was short on dishes so I am delighted that I can pick up things I love for bargain prices and help the animals as well.  It's a win-win situation, (see how that works??)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.