Sally Hart

By rosiecatwoman

Magdelin Street

magdelin street
I've become very fond of this street that's just a step from me. Though now seen as the dog end of the City since planning disasters of the 60's split the street off from the City with the dreadful 'flyover' and Anglia Square "Shopping Centre".
It's historically been a street of Migrants or " Strangers" , as they say in Norfolk. The link gives you a good flavour of the place, saying " the streets character is much closer to districts like Santa Croce, the leather workers area of Florence ". I increasingly, as I explore more, find it vibrant, friendly and interesting.  I do more of my food shopping, cafe going here.
Going around the Collage : TopL : flyover, with notice of the coming street festival. Carol has bravely planted a garden behind the link fence. Bit of street art. Anglia Square : shopping disaster. middle L. Phil-the-Camera that I  walked into as I trundled around with Fuji. As ever he's a mine of chat and information. fav cafe window 'The Cactus' that I ( increasingly ' ) call into. Bottom row L Cactus Special. Hannah Rose : Louise smart clothes shop she's just bravely opened. Last : my fav bit : music, 2nd hand stuff, Sally-the-clothes-repair-genius, Great fish shop.
This is the first of a project to record the buildings and people of a street that makes me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.