Making All

By chloej

Post Box Mark 1

Golden post box in Horsforth, in celebration of Alistair Brownlee.

It is, however, a Contested Post Box. The Royal Mail chose Horsforth, as it is where he grew up and, apparently where his parents still live. However, the people of Bramhope think it ought to be there, on the grounds that that is where he lives now and (according to one man interviewed on the TV last night) because of the alliteration, which is a bit of a killer argument, frankly...
Someone from Bramhope decided to paint their postbox gold anyway, but the Royal Mail have now painted it over. A bit mean spirited from all sides, if you ask me.

It can't be an easy call for the Royal Mail (although I would say, if in doubt, put it somewhere their parents can show off about it...) They might have done better to put it in central Leeds, as they have done for Nicola Adams (about which more anon, no doubt). Personally, having thought long and hard about where I'll have my gold post box (and let's not pretend everyone hasn't thought about this) I'd go for where I grew up rather than where I live now. But really, you need at least two...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.