Nellie Travels

By Padstowbabe

The Royal Observatory Edinburgh

Today my sis got into the whole blip thing and wanted to help me find a blip.

She took me to the Royal Observatory in Edinburgh. It's a lovely place with a fantastic view of Edinburgh (could have been the blip but no) and great places to walk the dog.

The Royal Observatory is unique because it houses on a single site a university astronomy research group, a UK research Council and a visitor centre. The observatory carries out astronomical research and university teaching; design, and construction of instruments and telescopes for astronomical observatories; teacher training in astronomy and outreach to the public.

In order to take this blip I used my sister's bag to flatten a path through a bank of nettles (I was in a skirt and sandals!!) to reach a vantage point through trees. I was quite pleased with it and it took a while to get.

Then we walked round the corner .....and there were no trees...and I could have taken a photo from there!!!! I suffered for my art and few people will have this exact shot because they won't have trawled through the nettles (much to the amusement/bewilderment of dog walkers passing by!).

It's a very impressive building and the top of it is very ornate. The building was built in 1894 and includes two cylindrical copper domes on top of the East and West Towers which were refurbished I believe in 2010. This is one of them.

I could have picked other views or indeed views of the city but so much dedication and stinging went into this that it had to be a nettle one!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.