Last Day of September

This day did not have a great start. I was later than I wanted leaving the flat, missed a bus, finally got on a later than desired train to Glasgow. I forgot yesterday to get bus and train tickets from the office so I paid my bus fare and mistakenly bought a single ticket to the second city of the empire rather than a return. I asked the conductor if I could please upgrade the single to a return and after a bit of hassle for her, she said I could upgrade...for ten pence more. I had seven pence. Or a tenner. The kind young man gave me a ten pence piece and wouldn't accept the seven pence in return. That random act of kindness really turned things around.

I got to the venue before the Minister, just, and was there when she arrived and she was in a good mood. She read the speech well and is certainly passionate about the subject matter which makes our work easier. And harder. 

I was so relieved when the work was done. It's been a tough week and I was in need of much frolicking. Thankfully I arranged to meet my friend Graham for lunch (who I met through asking for his photo in my early blip days). We set the world to rights and then I returned to Edinburgh just in time to sneak into John Lewis to take advantage of a voucher for a hot drink and cake - in the last hour of the offer. Yes!

When I got home I took a long stroll along the beach and I've attached some photos but the blip had to be lovely Graham.

An apt song for the weekend... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.