The Wren

By TheWren

Old Packhorse Bridge

I left my holiday cottage this morning and on the way out of Carrbridge, where I had been staying, I took this shot of the delightful Old Packhorse Bridge, a much photographed bridge in the town. The history of this bridge is interesting. At the beginning of the eighteenth century, to the inconvenience of both travellers and local people, you couldn't cross the River Dulnain anywhere when it was in spate and this caused a real problem particularly for burials in the local church across on the other side. Eventually stipends from the church paid for this attractive wee bridge to be built but then the parapets were destroyed by flood water in 1829 and it has remained as you see it now. It is no longer safe to be crossed and is cordoned off - although I did see a crow walking over it this morning! As you can see, the water flowing through the bridge is crystal clear and a delightful peaty colour.

I had a lovely long walk with the dogs near Loch an Eilean which I blipped yesterday and then sadly had to leave summer behind in the Highlands and returned to an overcast sky in Perthshire. It has been a super week with lots of fabulous walks amongst inspiring scenery and it was really good to have the company of my sister-in-law to share it with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.