Happenchance

By KimChristie

Summer days.

Finally summer seems (I say hesitantly in case I am tempting fate) to have arrived. Better late than not. We haven´t be here all summer so I am pretty glad it waited for us to get back to Norway!
I was however, cursing the heat this morning. I have barely trained all summer (a grand total of 3 runs in the whole of July) and as a consequence I am having to throw myself into full throttle if I am to stand a chance of completing in a half marathon, let alone in a time I can be happy with. The downside of summer running for me is that I HATE running in the heat. I´d take ten minus degrees over 20 plus degrees any day of the week when it comes to running. This morning I thought I was going to die before i got round my 10km route, in my slowest ever time I may add and I feel like I have been dehydrated ever since irrespective of how much water I drink!
This afternoon was spent IN the sea to cool myself and the troops down!
The arrival of summer has awakened the wasps and there are lots of hazy, lazy drunken wasps floating about the place. Our eldest even managed to get stung in the butt 2 days ago!!!
I got this on the way back from the beach. We have to walk through a lovely woody nature reserve which is choc-a-block with all sorts of wild plants and a chorus of insects and birds. A great way to spend the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.