The Common Cormorant

Some things stick with you from childhood.
Like this poem, by Christopher Isherwood, which always pops into my head when I see one of these birds

 
"The common cormorant (or shag)

Lays eggs inside a paper bag,

You follow the idea, no doubt?

It's to keep the lightning out.
 
But what these unobservant birds

Have never thought of, is that herds

Of wandering bears might come with buns

And steal the bags to hold the crumbs."


Stopping boozing and moving into 'lightweight' territory last night by drinking water from about 11.30 was sensible.  No hangover.  However, I fear that I am coming down with the stomach bug that has done the rounds with a few colleagues last week.  Not giving in to that though.  Peppermint tea and rusks are my 'go to' staples in such situations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.