SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Holkham Hall

...heading for the 'fun' run raising funds for Heritage House Day Centre at Wells.

A perfect morning after torrential rain yesterday.
Running is not my thing, I do not believe I evolved off the Savannah, born to run. I'm with the water theory.
Setting off at an enthusiastic pace I placed myself behind a mother and the nearest seven year old reckoning that would work...until they disappeared. I then waited until I was a respectable distance and walked a bit, broke back into a run when I approached the first marshal by the church who directed us off around the lake...as I passed the graveyard I asked if he had plot ready for me as I was already fit to dive in and call it a day. The lake shimmered in the morning sunlight and by marshal number two I said ' I'm running inside ...really, I am'. I caught up and passed mum and seven year old and saved some face. By Marshall number three I had to read the plaque on the wall and catch up on the history, it would have been rude to have sped past. As I shot past the estate deer, I could tell Bambi was impressed by my gazelle like action. As I rounded the front of the Hall, I started running again to put on a good impression and at the finish was shocked at the lack of Vangelis for the final flourish but got an encouraging clap.
Running is a funny activity. It wouldn't be my choice but as I ran I thought of mum and was glad of the juxtaposition of doing this, in a place that I know so well and love (once I've go over the landed gentry bit...and I had to eat my words because runners were not charged for parking), and it helps a feeling of continuity and community rather than just finality.
What a great setting. I hope the force of energy that is Mary, who runs the day centre, and whose mother also died this summer, was pleased with the outcome. She does an amazing job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.